French composer, born in 1971


After studying writing, orchestration and analysis at the Conservatoire de Paris, Franck Bedrossian pursued composition with Allain Gaussin, then entered the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse de Paris (CNSMDP) with Gérard Grisey, then Marco Stroppa, and he obtained a first prize (unanimously) in Analysis and a Diploma of Superior Training of Composition. In 2001-2002, he continued with the IRCAM Composition and Computer Music program, taught by Philippe Leroux, Tristan Murail and Philippe Manoury. At the same time, he completed his training with Helmut Lachenmann (Center Acanthes 1999, Internationale Ensemble Modern Akademie 2004).

His works are performed in France and abroad by a number of ensembles: 2e2m, Itinéraire, Ictus, Court-Circuit, Cairn, Ensemble Modern, Ensemble Intercontemporain, Orchestre National de Lyon, Quatuor Danel, Quatuor Diotima; as well as at festivals: Agora, Résonances, Manca, RTÉ Living Music Festival, Itinéraire de nuit, Ars Musica, Nuova Consonanza, Printemps de Arts de Monte-Carlo, Suona Francese, Wien Modern.

In 2001, he received a scholarship from the Meyer Foundation and the Bleustein-Blanchet « Fondation pour la Vocation » and, in 2004, the Hervé Dugardin Award from the Sacem. The Institute of France (Academy of Arts) awarded him the Pierre Cardin prize for Musical Composition in 2005. He also received the Young Composer Prize from the Sacem in 2007. Between 2006 and 2008, Franck Bedrossian had a residency at the Villa Medici in Rome. Starting from September 2008, Franck Bedrossian has been teaching composition at the University of California, Berkeley.

His works are published by Les Editions Billaudot.

Franck Bedrossian was the composer in residence of the Ensemble 2e2m in 2008. The Ensemble has published in its collection A la ligne (new line) On the excess of sound, dedicated to Franck Bedrossian, and produced a video available on:


Agata Zubel

Aphorisms on Miłosz (extrait)


Legal notes ©2e2m 2014